top of page

The Cooks – Part Two – Descendants of John Cook 1785-1882

Preamble . . . . . The Name Gallard/Galliard:

As is usual with family history research, there is little consistency in the records as regards to the spelling of names.

For many years I wondered about the name and where it came from and so I did some internet research and found:

Historically the name Galliard goes back to the time of the Normans, after 1066, and was a name given to a happy, joyous, bold person. Norman/French origin circa 11th Century. Galliard is also a dance.

Gallard is a French name meaning merry, happy. The name Gallard derives from the nickname Galliard.

There is a Gaillard Castle [Château Gaillard] in France that was built by Richard the Lionheart, King of England.

2019-2020

Having now managed to research back a couple more generations - I believe the family name was GALLARD. See “The Cooks – Part Three”

*Note Re Baptisms:

The Baptism records found for an Elizabeth b1817 and a John b1819 both give the home address as being Lambeth Street – so even though Father John’s Occupation is different [Weaver/Sawyer] I believe they must be siblings. However, I am not sure these baptisms are those of the children of our John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth.

The Baptism of Susannah I believe is correct as we had the date of birth and the fact that she was baptised at St George in the East from family papers. The details on the Baptism Record for Susannah state that Father John was a Labourer and the address North Street – neither of which ties up with the records [above] found for Elizabeth b1817 and John b1819.

*******

Baptisms of the Children of John Cook 1785-1882

Name Place of Baptism Abode Father’s

Occupation

Thomas Gallard b1808 St Luke Old St Finsbury None None


Elizabeth b1817 St Mary Whitechapel Lambeth St Sawyer

John b1819 St Mary Whitechapel Lambeth St Weaver

Susannah b1821 St Geo in the East North St Labourer

Francis b1823 S t Geo in the East Batty St Weaver

Henry b1826 St Geo in the East North St illegible

Descendants of John Cook 1785-1882

John Cook 1785-1882 had the following children:

Thomas Gallard confirmed:

By name Gallard

Elizabeth confirmed:

By the fact that her Daughters Sophia, Emily and Louisa Eliza living with Grandfather John Cook 1857-1882 in 1861.

John confirmed:

By the Will of Father John Cook 1785-1882 - John Cook of 138 Romford-road Stratford … Gentleman, the Son Living 138 Romford-road [Stratford] in 1881

Susannah confirmed:

By the fact that John Cook 1785-1882 left money in his Will to his Grandson George Charles Harding Son of Susannah.

Francis confirmed:

By the Will in which he states: My late son Francis Cook mentioned in the Will of John Cook 1785-1882

Leonard, Son of Francis, living at Fairland House, Manor House Estate with Uncle John Cook b1819 in 1871.

Henry confirmed:

By the fact that he is show living with Father John b1785-1882 on the 1841 Census

Also, Father named on Marr Cert is John Cook Foreman in Docks

Named his Son Henry Gallard

Note Re Number of Childen:

For some time I have been concerned that Thomas Gallard was born c1808 and then I have not found any more children until the birth of Elizabeth c1817. This seems like a long gap between children and raises several questions: particularly if John Cook 1785-1882 had two wives named Elizabeth, the first one having died after the birth of Thomas Gallard 1808.

Much later in life, John Cook 1785-1882 also had two further children with his wife Mary Ann Levitt: Charles 1868-1946 and Ada 1870-1934. They are not documented in this post.

Descendants of John Cook 1785-1882 in detail

Thomas Gallard Cook 1808-1857 Son of John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth

Born 7th October 1808 and Baptised 3rd February at St Luke, Old Street, Finsbury/Islington in London:

“Thomas Galliard S of John Cook and Elizabeth”

Thomas Gallard must have married to a girl named Mary as in his Will he states “my son Thomas Cook by my former wife Mary Cook”. However, I have not been able to find a record for this marriage. Son Thomas was born about 1831 and sometime between then and December 1833 Mary must have died because in December 1833 at St Anne, Limehouse, Thomas Gallard, a Widower, married Mary Ann Josling.

The 1841 Census shows Thomas [no mention of Gallard] a Yeast Maker, living in York Street, Stepney with Mary.

Daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann was baptised in 1851 and on her baptism record and on the 1851 Census Thomas Gallard is listed as a Yeast Merchant/Yeast Dealer.

The address for them on the 1851 Census is: 4 New Road, Somerset Place, Stepney but in a 1856 directory lists 4 Somerset Place, New Road, Commercial Road East.

Thomas Gallard appears to have only had three children:

Thomas b1831 Son by his first wife Mary

Elizabeth Mary Ann b1850 with Mary Ann his second wife

Robert b1852 also with Mary Ann his second wife

In 1857, at age 48, Thomas Gallard died. The Day Book of Burials and the Burial Register for City of London and Tower Hamlets Cemetery give his Address as: 4 New Street Whitechapel.

His address at time of making his will was: 4 Somerset Place New Road Whitechapel Road in the Parish of Saint Dunstan’s, Stepney.

Found in the Morning Advertiser of 20th December 1831 a description: “ … 3 brick-built Houses with stables chaise standing workshops sheds small tenement yard being Nos 2, 3, & 4, New-Road Whitechapel-Road …”

In his Will Thomas Gallard bequeathed to his brother John Cook and Charles Hussey “my seven leasehold messuages or tenements and premises, situate and being, numbers 1-7 both inclusive in John Street, West Ham”

The fact that John Cook 1785-1882, Thomas Gallard’s Father, was living at 2 John Street in 1861 and number 4 John Street in 1871 and 1881 [and the name Gallard] appears to confirm the relationship as The Father of John Cook 1785-1882 was also Thomas Gallard Cook.

Further investigation is needed to try and establish how Thomas Gallard came to acquire the houses on John Street in West Ham.

Charles Hussey appears to have been a neighbour of Thomas Gallard on the Census and presumably a friend a possible business associate, but this is speculation.

An attempt at a transcription of Thomas Gallard Cook’s Will:

This is the last will and testament of me Thomas Galliard Cook of 4 Somerset Place New Road Whitechapel Road in the Parish of Saint Dunstan’s, Stepney in the County of Middlesex Gentleman. I my Executors and Trustees herein after named to pay all my just debts funeral and testamentary expenses. I give and bequeath unto my dear wife Mary Ann Cook the sum of Fifty Pounds Sterling for her use to be paid to her within one calendar month after my demise I give and bequeath unto each of my children by my said dear wife Mary Ann Cook namely Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and Robert Galliard Cook as shall attain the age of 21 years the sum of two hundred pounds sterling such legacies to be paid out of that portion of my estate as of money in the public ? or funds and I give those legacies to equalise? The ? shares of my three ? children in the ultimate distribution of my estate and effects ?among them my son Thomas Cook by my former wife Mary Cook having had about the sum of two hundred pounds of me in my lifetime. I give devise and bequeath unto my brother John Cook of First Villa Harrow Green Road Leytonstone in the county of Essex Gentleman and Charles Hussey of Upton Villas, Ilford Road, in the said County of Essex Gentleman. all those my seven leasehold messauges or tenaments and premises situate and being numbers 1 to 7 both inclusive in John Street West Ham in the county of Essex. and the piece? of around at the end? of the said messauges and next number 7 and all other my leasehold? estates and property whatsoever. All my money in the public shares? or funds money and ? for money household furniture plate linen china and other household effects and all other my estate property and effects whatsoever and wheresoever ? and personal which I may be seized? possession of interested in or out? unto at the time of my demise whether in possession reversion ? remainder or ex or over which I may have a power of dispersion by this my will to ? the same unto the said John Cook and Charles Hussey their heirs executors administrators and assignees? arranged to the nature and tenures thereof respectively upon the trusts following that is to say is to my household furniture plate linen china and other my household effects upon trust that they my said Trustees or the survivour or the Exectuors or Administrators or Survivours or other the Trustees or Trustee for the time being of this my Will and shall permit and suffer my said dear wife Mary Ann Cook to have the use and enjoyment of the same during so long as she shall remain my Widow and from and after her demise or future marriage upon trust that my said Trustees or the survivors of them or the Executors or Administrators of such Survivour or other the Trustee for the time being of this my Will do and shall sell and convert the same into money and invest the proceeds of such sale in their or his names or name in the public or funds or this kingdom and to stand possessed thereto when so invested upon the trusts next in after my other monies in the public or funds of this kingdom and to be and taken as part thereof as to my money in the public or funds of this kingdom? upon trust that they my said Trustees or survivor of them or the Executors or Administrators of said survivour or the other Trustee for the time being of this my Will do and shall in the first place pay throughout my just debts funeral and testamentary expenses and the primary legacies herein before given and bequeathed as and the same shall income pay and after and their for upon trust during such time as my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and my said son Robert Galliard Cook or of them shall be under the age of twenty one years to pay the interest dividends and annual income thereof as and when the same shall be into my said dear wife Mary Ann Cook my widow for the support and maintenance of herself and my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and of my said son Robert Galliard Cook so far as my said son Robert Galliard Cook shall reasonably require such support and maintenance and in the event of the demise or future marriage of my said dear wife Mary Ann Cook before my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and my son Robert Galliard Cook or the survivor of them shall have attained twenty one years upon trust to pay and apply the interest and annual income of the said last mentioned of funds in and towards the support and maintenance of my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and my said son Robert Galliard Cook or the survivor of them in such manner as my said Trustees or Trustee shall in their discrection think most expedient until my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and my said son Robert Galliard Cook or the survivor of them shall attain the age of twenty one years and from immediately after my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and also my said son Robert Galliard Cook or the survivor of them shall have attained the age of twenty one years or in the event of both of them dying under the age of twenty one years than from and after the demise of the survivor of them upon trust at they my said Trustees or the survivor of them or the Executors or Administrators of such Survivor or other the Trustees or Trustee for the time being of this my will do and shall pay and divide the of the said shares or funds until and equally between of my three children namely Thomas Cook my said son of my former wife Mary Cook and my said daughter Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and my said son Robert Galliard Cook my said two children by my present wife Mary Ann Cook as shall be living at the time of my said Elizabeth Mary Ann Cook and also my said son Robert Galliard Cook or the survivor of them attaining the age of twenty one years or in the event of their both dying under that age at the time of the demise of the survivor of them and the child or children then living of my said three children who shall attain the age of twenty one years or being a daughter or daughters attain that age or marry but so that the child or children of shall only be entitled equally among them to the which his her or their parent would have been entitled to if living as to my said messauges and previous and all other the and remainder of my said trust estate property and effects and personal trust that they my said Trustees or other Trustees or Trustee for the time being of this my will do and shall pay the profits and annual income thereof as and when the same shall or after first paying the ground rent of the said premises and insuring the same from loss or damage by fire and keeping the same in good repair unto my said dear wife Mary Ann Cook during so long as she shall remain my widow and from after the demise or future marriage of my said dear wife Mary Ann Cook I direct and that my said Trustees or the survivor of them or the Exectutors or Administrators of such survivor or other the Trustees or Trustee for the time being of this my will do and shall sell and also absolutely of my said leasehold messauges or tennements and premises and all other and remained of my said trust estate property and effects either by public auction or private and either log other or in and with under and to such

*******

Elizabeth Cook b1817 Daughter of John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth

*There is a Baptism of an Elizabeth daughter of John and Elizabeth recorded at Father’s Occupation Sawyer and the Abode Lambeth Street

On 9th August 1840 Elizabeth married James Rowland a Cabinet Maker at the Parish Church in Bow. Her Father named as John Cook a Warehouseman and James’s Father James a Shoemaker.

In 1841 Elizabeth and James are living at 50 Jamaica Street Stepney. With them is Elizabeth’s Brother John b1819. At number 18 Jamaica Street are parents John b1875 and Elizabeth and Brothers Henry and Thomas. 1841 also saw the birth of their first child Elizabeth Amy. In 1843 Daughter Mary Ann was born, the son James in 1846, Susannah in 1848 and Sophia Emily in 1850. On the Baptism Record for Sophia the home address is 2 Charles Street MEOT but then in 1851 Elizabeth and James, an Undertaker, are living at 37 High Street Poplar with their children: Elizabeth Amy, Mary Ann, James, Susannah and Sophia Eliza.

James’s Father, James, a Shoemaker, age 67 is also with them in 1851 [he was to die the next year] and they have a Servant.

An article appeared in the Morning Post of 26th September 1855 as follows:

James Rowland age 33 undertaker and funeral furnisher who also lets out horses & vehicles on hire of No 37 High St Poplar was brought before ...charged with stealing a five pound Bank of England note ...

James would have been age about 50 in 1855 so I presume this is just an error on the part of the newspaper.

This advertisement taken from the East London Observer 17th October 1857.

Elizabeth and James’s last child, Louisa Eliza, was born in 1856.

In 1861 Elizabeth is a Visitor at the house of her Brother John b1819 at what appears to be, number 2 Commercial Road, Stepney MEOT. Even though Elizabeth is listed as being married I have been unable to find husband James elsewhere on the Census so it is possible that he had died before 1861.

Elizabeth died when she was 54 years old. The Burial Record for City of London and Tower Hamlets Cemetery lists Sutherland Terrace, North Bow as the address.

*******

John Cook b1819 Son of John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth

*There is a Baptism of a John Cook son of John and Elizabeth, Abode Lambeth Street in 1819 at ***

Father’s Occupation a Weaver – I am not sure this the correct one.

In 1841 he was living at 50 Jamaica Street with James and Elizabeth Rowland – Elizabeth being his Sister. Also living in Jamaica Street at number 18 were his parents John and Elizabeth and Brother Henry.

By 1851 he was Widowed and listed as a Visitor at the home of his Mother in Law Sophia Duff. Sophia Duff, along with her Sister Catherine Wade, lived at the Manor House which according to the 1851 Census was located between Trinity Parsonage and Grove Terrace, East India Road [All Saints Poplar]. Sophia Duff Catherine Wade were both listed as, what looks like, “Landed Proprietors”.

More of the Duff and Wade families later.

John Cook must have remarried to Annie who is shown on the 1861 Census as his Wife.

However, I can find no other mention of her. I believe this is the correct John Cook b1819 as he is again with Elizabeth Rowland his Sister and both their ages are correct.

Insert Census

John Cook Head a Cowdealer b Whitechapel Age 71 so born c1820 - correct

Annie his Wife

Cordelia Sophia Wade Cook Daughter Age 17 so born c1844 – correct

Edgar Wade Cook Son Age 4 so born c1857 in Leytonstone Essex [this could be place of birth on census]

Henry John/Jrn? Baker Son Age 18 born c1843 No idea who this is?

Elizabeth Rowland Age 44 [obviously not Daughter of John Age 41] Sister born c1817 – correct

Elizabeth Amy Rowland Niece Age 19 so born c1842 – correct

Mary Ann Rowland Niece Age 17 so born c1844 - correct

Henry James Baker/Barker – adopted son? – Annie could have been a widow when she married John Cook and previously married to Baker/Barker?

John Cook appears to have changed his previous occupation of Clerk and is now a Cow Dealer.

The Census of 1881 shows John Cook b1819 living at 138 Romford Road West Ham. He is again listed as a Widower and under Occupation it states “Freehold Property”

*******

Susannah Cook b1821 Son of John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth

Born 19th June 1821 at North Street, Stepney, Tower Hamlets.

This is confirmed as correct from family papers.

Baptised "St George Middlesex" Saint George in the East, Tower Hamlets in 1821 - Occupation of Father: Labourer. Address North Street.

*******

Francis Son of John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth

Born on the 27th July 1823 Francis was baptised "St George Middlesex" Saint George in the East, Tower Hamlets on 3rd September. Occupation of Father John was a Weaver and home address Batty Street.

On 27th September 1847 at St Philip’s in Stepney Francis married Marianne Roper. The address for Francis, a Clerk, was 10 Jamaica Street. Marianne was living with her parents at 166 High Street, Shadwell. Marianne’s Father William Roper was a Builder.

Their first child Alfred Roper Cook was born in 1848 and then Walter Francis Cook born in 1849.

insert map

The 1851 Census shows Francis, a Soap Manufacturer’s Clerk, living with Marianne and their two sons at 34 Colet Place [Commercial Road East] in the District of St George’s in the East.

Daughter Marianne was born in 1852, Louisa in 1855 and another Son, Leonard, in 1855 – lastly, Anne was born in 1857.

In 1861 they were still at 34 Colet Place. Francis’s Occupation is unreadable but includes the word “Bank” which ties up with the fact that he worked for the East of London Savings Bank *

Colet Place is on the map just below the word “East” on the Commercial Road. Shadwell Sta at the bottom of the image is a reference point and Christs Church Watney Street where the children were baptised is also shown.

The only children living with Francis and Marianne in 1861 are Leonard and Anne.

Whereabouts of the other Children in 1861?

Their last child Rachel Maude was born in 1863

Then tragedy struck the family: First to die in 1862 was Marianne [age 9], then Francis died in 1865. I have been unable to find a Will for him which suggests he may have died suddenly or unexpectedly. Cause of death can only be discovered by obtaining the death certificate. I cannot find any trace of an Obituary.

Only three years later, Walter Francis died in 1868, he was 18 years old and two years after that Marianne’s Father William Roper died. The next death was of Daughter Louisa, aged 20, in 1875, followed by Alfred Roper in 1878, age 30 and Rachel Maude in 1888 age 25 years.

*East of London Savings Bank

Several references, mostly advertisements have been found in newspapers in regard to the East of London Savings Bank. Compiling all the information from the various mentions we find that the Bank or at least a branch of the Bank was located at 34 Colet Place. Francis Cook was the Secretary and at some point William Roper – presumably Marianne’s Father – was one of the Trustees.

“Savings Bank, COLET PLACE, COMMERCIAL ROAD, EAST. Established 1837. Regulated by Act of Parliament. The Funds are Invested with Government.”

Children of Francis and Marianne:

Alfred Roper Cook born 16th May 1848

*******

Henry Son of John 1785-1882 and Elizabeth

Born North Street baptised "St George Middlesex" Saint George in the East, Tower Hamlets in 1826 - Occupation of Father:

Address North Street.

To be Cont ...

© 2020 bgrundy
bottom of page